top of page
  • Writer's pictureGJHS

GJHS Newsletter 05-19-2023

Updated: May 21, 2023

Week at a Glance:

Monday 5/22:

  • Last day of school! Early dismissal at 11:40am

Tuesday 5/23:

  • 8th grade parade

Tuesday 5/30:

Principal’s Message

Jackie Carducci GJHS Principal

A BIG Thank You to our Greenspun Community!!!

I love our parent volunteers and our community partners, and I just want to say a BIG THANK YOU for your support and generosity. Without your help, our staff would not be able to offer the array of educational opportunities that support our students’ learning.

Because of your support, our students are able to participate in programs that assist them in building life-long skills. They are able to engage in competitions that boost their confidence in their abilities. They are able to experience field trips in which they build upon classroom instruction, explore new environments, and make valuable connections with their peers. And most importantly, they are able to grow into well-rounded and productive individuals because of these opportunities.

These experiences would not be possible without your support. There are not enough words to describe how thankful we are for you. We are truly blessed to live in such a caring community that is committed to the success of our Greenspun students!

Events & Honors:

Congratulations to the following students who were recognized at the 8th grade Awards ceremony on Thursday, May 18:

  • Principals Award: Emily Sanchez

  • Band Award: Paige Tassin and Devin Bodily

  • Choir Award: Rares Postirnac and Rhett Melgar

  • Orchestra Award: John Brian and Megan Bonilla

  • Physical Education Award: Taven Avilas and Sergio Flores

  • Fitness Award: Joseph Cerda

  • Digital Storytelling/Publications Award: Thomas Burnett

  • Leadership Award: Emily Sanchez and Vivianna Wong

  • Science Award: Gianni Thompson and Kathryn Vladivieso Estrada

  • Social Studies Award: Franklin Nguyen and Anna Swenson

  • English Award: Ryan Syndiongco and Eunyl Lee

  • Pre-Algebra Award: Darla Lopez and Anthony Fernandez

  • Algebra Award: Brooklyn Moore and Evelyn Hausrath-Moret

  • Health Award: Bella Cress and Payton Colbrook

  • Student Services Award: Shimon Trickey

  • Student Services Award: John Ficarrotta

  • Student Services Award: Raquel Keller

  • Student Services Award: Maryah Patton

  • Robotics Award: Ethan Turner and Zachary Bellante

  • Accelerated Reader Award: Paige Tassin

  • Art Award: Cash Bronson and Lilly Krief

3 Year Straight A's Award:

​Christopher Almeida Joshua Arnold Matthew Biag Megan Bonilla Tabitha Bwakamba Payton Colbrook Evelyn Hausrath-Moret Eunyul Lee Micah Lynn Jacob Martinez

​Rhett Melgar Kena Papanek Dylan Pazos Rares Postirnac Quinn Rawhouser Colton Schuchmann Benjamin Steidel Anna Swenson Paige Tassin

Presidential Award (3.5 GPA or higher):

​Kloe Abdalla

Brandon Aguilar

Allen Aguilar

Christopher Almeida

Athena Arhontas

Joshua Arnold

Kelsey Barreras

Brooke Beranek

Matthew Biag

Vincent Bihar

Donnell Bilbro

Anabelle Blea

Devin Bodily

Megan Bonilla

John Brian

Tabitha Bwakamba

Ean Carcamo

Megan Carr

Payton Colbrook

Jack Coombs

Bella Cress

William Denice

Alexandria Dennie

Drayden Dixon

Zoe Dixon

Isabella Dizon

Tyler Domagas

Kaia Earl

Kaden Edgell

Maddoxx Egnor

Oliver Elton

Zoli Emery

Nathan Ewing

Maleah Fitzgerald

Brady Flickinger

Nakisa Friedman

Sofia Garcia

Adrian Garcia

Tallin Gilliland

Isaiah Gillinta

Jayden Gomez

Aaron Gubler

Evelyn Hausrath-Moret

Molly Jacobson

Jesse Jaime

Isidora Jefic

Deisel Jones

Taylor Kay

Kire Knudson

Brandon Lantow

Eunyul Lee

Danica Lefever

Henry Lindgren

Riley Luke

Micah Lynn

Jasmine Maldonado

Mia Marroquin Franco

Daukyn Martin

Jacob Martinez

Rhett Melgar

​Analeigh Merriam

Lewis Moore

Maurice Moses

Max Mullen

Cole Myers

Jayden Nasry

Braydon Neiswenter

Franklin Nguyen

Madelyn Nikas

Genevieve Oliveros

Jacob Ortiz

Hannah Osborne

Kena Papanek

Jacob Pate

Dylan Pazos

Eva Pena

Diana Portillo

Rares Postirnac

Carter Priebe

​Miguel Quiroz

Logan Rallo

Lily Rasmussen

Quinn Rawhouser

Vivien Reber

Willow Rehkop

Darian Ringler

Evelyn Robbins

Isaac Rosenberg

Jack Ross

Jeiden Ross

Christopher Rueda

Kyle Salter

Elenarose Schneider

Colton Schuchmann

Kimball Steffen

Benjamin Steidel

Anna Swenson

Ryan Sydiongco

Alex Szefczenko

Paige Tassin

Josephine Thoman

Steven Torres

Khoi Tran

Shimon Trickey

Brandon Trucco

Ethan Turner

Landon Unfried

Katherine Valdivieso-Estrada

Mila Vidacic

Allison Wade

Evan Walker

Brianna Wiley

Yuyay Williamson Tabango

Vivianna Wong

Vince Xiong

Elham Yousseff

Mesan Zahirovic

Alyssa Zeitler

Jackson Zielinski

8th Grade Parade: GJHS is hosting an 8th grade drive-through parade in the front parking lot on Tuesday, May 23, from 11am-12pm. Please decorate your cars and drive your 8th grade students through for a final good-bye to your school, teachers and staff! No walk-throughs allowed.

Summer School: Summer school sign-ups are finally here! If you are interested in taking some classes this summer please contact or meet with your school counselor. Yellow summer school informational flyers are available in the back office, or click below. If you have any questions please see your grade level counselor.

7th Grade Required Vaccinations: Reminder for all 7th graders to get their 7th grade vaccines! (Tdap and MCV4)

Flag Football: Are you interested in playing boys or girls flag football? Come to open field on August 9th, 10th, and 11th from 2:30-3:30. This is an open informational session and workout for players of all skill levels. Tryouts will be held on Monday, August 14th and Tuesday, August 15th. You must create an account at and fill out ALL the forms. This includes getting a physical evaluation, which must be conducted by a physician, prior to attending tryouts. Players who have not been marked complete on Register My Athlete will not be allowed to try out.

Henderson Teen Writing Contest: 8th grade student Jesse Sundstrom earned 3rd place in the Henderson Teen Writing Contest! Congratulations Jesse! Keep writing!

Mrs. Kang’s Solar Oven Project: Mrs. Kang’s class made solar ovens for their science project this year.

Hergenrader’s Heroes: Congratulations to Mr. Hergenrader's students for earning 2,544 AR points in the 4th quarter! KEEP READING this summer!!

Robotics: The robotics team would like to thank our business sponsors this year. Their support allows us to continue a robust and award-winning program.

Chromebook Collection: All student Chromebooks and Greenspun chargers were collected on May 17. Please check and pay fines for missing items and damages on our webstore or in person at the bankers office. CLICK HERE to learn how to check and pay fines.

Summer Acceleration Registration: The time has arrived! Fill out your official registration form for our Summer Acceleration program. Current Greenspun students, including incoming 6th graders, are welcome to attend. Summer Acceleration will be held from May 30th through June 16th during our regular school hours (8:00 am - 2:11 pm.) Once you have filled out your registration form, please go to each link to choose your classes. Fill out one form per child, please. We’re looking forward to a great three weeks! Summer Acceleration 2023

2023-2024 Registration: Registration is now open for the 2023-2024 school year. ALL students must register for the 2023-2024 school year. CLICK HERE for more information!

Infinite Campus Parent portal/Student portal: Parents, please continue to monitor your child’s grades in Infinite Campus Parent Portal. If you need an activation code, please contact the office for assistance.

School Organizational Team: The next Greenspun JHS SOT meeting will be August 23 at 2:30pm. Click here for GJHS SOT information.



bottom of page